blogging / I Sing / Life / love / writing

I Sing – Mary Chapin Carpenter “Passionate Kisses”

It’s 9:27 pm

At my job we have  satellite radio that plays throughout the day. Most days its stuck on the pop channel which is pretty much the Taylor Swift-Katy Perry show. It gets old really fast and one really wants to either turn it off or at least change the channel.
Our old ASM John played classic rock when he was in charge and while that was somewhat a bit better,it wasn’t until someone put on the county channel that it a little interesting. While I like some country,my age must be showing as most of today’s country just sounds awful to me. I tune the newer acts and listen for that rare older song that never really gets any radio play these days.

Like this beautiful gem from Mary Chapin Carpenter. Mary had a tremendous run back in the early to mid-90s,winning five Grammy Awards which helped her sell over 12 million copies of her music,including 4 million copies of “Come On Come On” in which “Passionate Kisses” is on.
Mary is a prolific songwriter but in a rare turn,this is not she penned. Lucinda Williams wrote this song but Mary owns it vocally. In a genre where looks are often considered before writing ability and vocals,Mary bucked the trend by being not the normal beauty queen that Nashville seems to love putting out en mass.
I own most of Mary’s catalog and while I haven’t listened to them lately,hearing “Passionate Kisses” rekindled some very sweet memories. Time to dust off Mary’s records!

“Passionate Kisses” as sung by Mary Chapin Carpenter

Is it too much to ask?
I want a comfortable bed that won’t hurt my back
Food to fill me up
And warm clothes and all that stuff
Shouldn’t I have this?
Shouldn’t I have this?
Shouldn’t I have all of this, and
Passionate kisses
Passionate kisses, whoa-oh-oh
Passionate kisses from you?
Is it too much to demand
I want a full house and a rock-‘n’-roll band
Pens that won’t run out of ink
And cool quiet and time to think
Shouldn’t I have this?
Shouldn’t I have this?
Shouldn’t I have all of this, and
Passionate kisses
Passionate kisses, whoa-oh-oh
Passionate kisses from you?
Do I want too much?
Am I going overboard to want that touch?
I shout it out to the night

 

Leave a Reply

