Guest Blogger / Life

Guest blogger John Branch,Jr. – “Yes,I Went There

Its 5:05 pm

I caught the following blog written by my good friend John on FB and asked him if I could run it here on The Inner Circle. John has a voice I respect very deeply and I hope everyone will take a few minutes to read his words. Please feel free to leave your own comments below,whether you agree or not on the gay marriage ruling.

 

 

 

OK SOAPBOX TIME!!!! Before I get started with my rant, I should let you know that I’m a Christian and that Jesus is my Lord and Savior. I’m indifferent when it comes to the SCOTUS last week on gay marriage….translation I knew it was coming. Twenty years ago the scales were nearly opposite on this issue but now public opinion has changed on it. People are becoming more tolerant of other people’s lifestyles. The outcry of those who are predicting the “end of days” for this decision is premature and quite frankly laughable. Folks have said that God won’t protect us anymore because of this ruling. I thought that would have happened when millions of Africans were raped, murdered, and enslaved and brought here to the U.S. I also heard about people saying that they were going to move to Canada (gay marriage legal for a decade) and set themselves on fire (still waiting…..btw didn’t the Bible mention something about suicide??).

Speaking on what the Bible does mention, it’s time for some more straight talk (no pun intended) on this. As Christians we do a very nasty thing and it’s something that needs to stop immediately. I have spoken about this myself at numerous bible studies and in circles with my religious friends. It’s time that we stop ranking sin from 1-30.
What do I mean…..it’s time we stop putting some sin above others. Being that it’s Sunday, I’m sure that churches all over the country will somehow reference this ruling today during service. There will be commentary on how homosexuality is destroying this nation and that these people will be cast into the gates of hell (especially in the black churches…..YES I WENT THERE).
What’s amusing is that I don’t see this same condemnation for those in the audience who have cheated on their spouses, gotten divorced, having premarital sex, stolen money, or gotten drunk and the bible mentions all of those as sin. We “pray for” the pastor who has stolen money, molested young men, and gotten women from his congregation pregnant but are ready to cast out those who have another life partner. Remember people used the bible to justify slavery in the U.S.
The first thing that someone will mention is Sodom & Gomorrah. Deuteronomy 22:28-29 states that “If a man happens to meet a virgin who is not pledged to be married and rapes her and they are discovered, he shall pay her father fifty shekels of silver. He must marry the young woman, for he has violated her. He can never divorce he as long as he lives.” Now reading this tells me that rapists have to marry the women they did this act to, if you look at the literal meaning. Anyone who has raped can tell you that it’s the most horrific experience they have ever had and to say that they have to be together would be deemed cruel, yet I don’t see folks quoting this scripture. In some parts of the world people who have committed adultery are stoned to death. We call this barbaric but it’s in the bible. Fathers who are domineering and abusive will say to “honor thy mother and father” yet they ignore the next verse that says “fathers don’t provoke your children for they will resent you”. We can’t keep quoting on bible on things that we feel comfortable with to suit your opinion!!!

On another note, I was reminded of the movie Philadelphia with Tom Hanks and Denzel Washington. There is a scene in a bar where he’s talking about how much gays make him (Washington) sick, yet they still have rights under the law. There is another scene in the movie in which Washington, who plays an attorney, stated that we have a loathing of homosexuals. Now this movie is more that 20 years old but the message is the same. Deep down, we as people really want nothing to do with anyone who is gay. Let me tell you who some of these gay people are…..they are your star athletes, police officers, firefighters, doctors, attorneys, politicians, next door neighbors, your kids teachers, coworkers, and bosses (you loathe gays but you’ll take that paycheck from them). Check this out…..they are also in your church choirs, deacon boards, in the pew next to you (btw they give their 10%) and in some cases they are the pastor (YES I WENT THERE). Now I’m not saying endorse the gay lifestyle but know that they are not foreign when it comes to their existence.

Now SCOTUS time. I have heard all sides of this argument and there are points that I agree to on both sides. Here’s the thing though, the SCOTUS is sworn to uphold the Constitution, not the Bible, Koran, etc…. Last time I checked there is a thing called separation of Church and State in this country. If that was the case then we would have beheadings on religious grounds like they do in the middle east, people would be burned at the stake for heresy, etc… We like to quote words like freedom, liberty and happiness. People, this just can’t be for things you agree with. I dislike bigotry on all levels yet I have to respect the right for someone to espouse their racist beliefs. I’m hearing people and politicians talk about needing to get rid of the Supreme Court and not follow because of this decision. Were these same people complaining in Bush v Gore, Brown v Board of Education, the Lovings (first interracial marriage), or the gutting of the Voting Rights Act……….obviously not!! I seriously doubt conservatives were banging the gavel for SCOTUS dissolution, in fact they were saying that “times are different”…………EXACTLY!!!!! Liberals of faith are talking about voting Republican in the next election yet they were saying this when the SCOTUS weakened parts of affirmative actions. Remember people, this goes both ways and the butthurt/drastic bloviating to score very cheap political points to useless and counterproductive.

Which brings me to the victors. Congrats on the ruling for you as I’m sure that many of you will be able to be happy and live how you want to live. However, there is some “celebration” that needs to stop. I came across some pictures of a pride parade in Chicago and one of the images from the parade was a float in which the crucifixion of Jesus Christ was recreated to show two men or two women kissing on the cross. One image involved a man dressed as Jesus kissing another man passionately. THIS IS NOT COOL, NOT COOL AT ALL!!!! This is offensive to all Christians, straight and gay. I understand the jubilee but some things are definitely off limits. This is also the kind of stuff that builds resentment towards that community. Doing things like to get attention further strains the possible of coming together. While we might have different beliefs and opinions on this matter, don’t mock religion!!

Anyway that’s all I have for now….stepping off soapbox now.

Thank you for reading my blog,if you want to submit a guest entry,contact me on Twitter @Jinzo_2400

Leave a Reply

